Crime & The City Solution – American Twilight (2013)

Label: Mute
Catalog#: CDSTUMM 339
Format: Digital files, Album
Country: UK
Released: 25 Mar 2013
Genre: Rock
Style: Alternative
Quality: FLAC / MP3 320
Size: 474 MB / 98 MB


Crime & The City Solution – American Twilight (2013)

After a two-decade hiatus, the legendary Crime & The City Solution are back with a new incarnation based in a new home city, Detroit, and a new album, American Twilight out on 25 March 2013.

This latest embodiment of Crime & The City Solution sees Berlin era members Simon Bonney (vocals), Bronwyn Adams (violin) and Alexander Hacke (guitar), joined by renowned visual artist Danielle de Picciotto, Jim White (drums — Dirty Three, Cat Power), David Eugene Edwards (guitar — 16 Horsepower, Wovenhand), Troy Gregory (bass — Witches) and Matthew Smith (Moog / keyboards — Outrageous Cherry, Volebeats). Crime & The City Solution have just announced a series of Australian dates, including All Tomorrow’s Parties / I’ll Be Your Mirror, curated by The Drones, in February. See below for full tour dates.

Formed by Simon Bonney at the age of 16, Crime & The City Solution’s early performances in Sydney had a big impact on key figures of the early Melbourne art-punk/post punk scene. In 1984, Bad Seed Mick Harvey shipped Bonney to England to form the London based Crime with their friend the brilliant and ever influential ex-Birthday Party guitarist Rowland S Howard, his brother Harry Howard on bass and Epic Soundtracks on drums. Two years on, having toured Europe, the UK and US and released several EPs and an album, this lineup reached its zenith at its finale in a historic swansong performance in Wim Wenders’ cinematic masterpiece ‘Wings of Desire’.

Bonney has said his true voice and the definitive sound he sought emerged with the next, Berlin based incarnation of Crime & The City Solution, which recorded three studio albums and a live CD between 1986 and 1991. With a more experimental sound, which drew less on Melbourne post punk scene roots and took a more explorative musical approach, this lineup was 50% Berliner and featured Einstürzende Neubauten’s Alex Hacke on guitar, ex-DAF/Liaisons Dangereuses electronic genius Chrislo Haas on vintage Korg patchbay synth, free jazz trio bassist Thomas Stern, with Australians Mick Harvey on drums and Bonney’s lyrical collaborator Bronwyn Adams on violin.


1. Goddess [3:50]
2. My Love Takes Me There [4:09]
3. Riven Man [4:33]
4. Domina [6:48]
5. The Colonel [6:30]
6. Beyond Good and Evil [4:09]
7. American Twilight [5:19]
8. Street of West Memphis [5:48]


Vocals – Simon Bonney
Guitar, Backing Vocals – Alexander Hacke, David Eugene Edwards
Bass, Backing Vocals, Cello – Troy Gregory
Backing Vocals, Violin – Bronwyn Adams
Drums – Jim White
Visuals, Autoharp, Backing Vocals – Danielle de Picciotto
Keyboards, Backing Vocals – Matthew Smith

Download: MP3 | FLAC